Milk Allergy Diet

General guidelines for milk allergy

The key to an allergy-free diet is to avoid foods or products containing the food to which you are allergic. The items that you are allergic to are called allergens. A milk allergy is an abnormal response of the body to the proteins found in cow's milk. Milk allergy is most common among infants and young children. Milk and milk products are found in many foods. Obvious forms of milk are cream, cheese, butter, ice cream, and yogurt. Milk and milk products may also be hidden sources in commonly eaten foods. In order to avoid foods that contain milk products, it is necessary to read food labels.

Important information about avoiding milk and milk products

  • The word nondairy on a product label indicates it does not contain butter, cream, or milk. However, this does not necessarily indicate it does not have other milk-containing ingredients.

  • The Kosher food labeled pareve or parve almost always indicates food is free of milk and milk products. A D on a product label next to the circled K or U indicates the presence of milk protein. These products should be avoided.

  • Processed meats, including hot dogs, sausages, and luncheon meats, frequently contain milk or are processed on milk-containing lines. Carefully read all food labels.

Foods

Allowed

Not allowed

Beverages

Carbonated beverages

Coffee

Tea

Soy substitute-milk formulas, water

Fruit drinks

All milks (whole, low-fat, skim, buttermilk, evaporated, condensed, powdered, hot cocoa)

Yogurt, eggnog, milkshakes, malts

All beverages made with milk or milk products

Breads

Milk-free breads

French bread

Wheat, white, rye, corn, graham, gluten, and soy breads made without milk or milk products

Graham cracker or rice wafers

Wheat, white, or rye breads

Biscuits, donuts, muffins, pancakes, waffles, zwieback, crackers, saltines, rusk

Most commercially prepared breads and rolls contain milk or milk products

French toast made with milk

Cereals

Any cereal to which no milk or milk products have been added

High-protein cereals

Prepared and precooked cereals with milk solids, casein, or other milk products added

Desserts

Meringue, gelatin, popsicles, fruit ice, fruit whip, angel food cake

Cakes, cookies, and pie crusts made without milk or milk products

Cake, cookies, custard, pudding, cream desserts, or sherbet containing milk products

Ice cream, cream pie

Pastries brushed with milk, junket, popover

Eggs

All prepared without milk

Scrambled with milk, creamed eggs, egg substitutes

Fats

Vegetable oil, meat fat, lard, bacon, shortening, milk-free gravy

Peanut butter (made without milk solids)

Margarine without milk solids

Kosher margarine

Butter, cream, margarine

Salad dressing or mayonnaise containing milk, milk solids, or milk products

Some butter substitutes and nondairy creamers

Fruits

All fresh, frozen, or canned fruits and juices

Any served with milk, butter, or cream

Meats, fish, poultry, and cheese

Baked, broiled, boiled, roasted or fried: beef, veal, pork, chicken, turkey, lamb, fish, organ meats, or tofu (prepared without milk or milk products)

Sausage, deli/luncheon meats, or ham if made without milk products

Note: A small number of persons with cow's milk allergy may develop a reaction to beef. Thus, those with cow's milk allergy should be careful when consuming beef or foods containing beef. 

All cheese, cottage cheese, cream cheese

Some sausage products, bologna, frankfurters

Breaded meats, meatloaf, croquettes, casseroles, hamburgers (unless made without milk)

Commercial entrees made with milk or milk solids

Potatoes and substitutes

Macaroni, noodles, spaghetti, rice

White or sweet potatoes prepared without milk, butter, cream, or allowed margarine

Au gratin, buttered, creamed, scalloped potato or substitutes

Macaroni and cheese

Mashed potatoes containing milk or butter

Frozen french fries sprayed with lactose

Soups

Bouillon, broth, consommé or soups with broth base plain or with all allowed foods

Bisques, chowders, creamed soups

All soups made with milk or milk products

Sweets

Corn syrup, honey, jam, jelly

Hard candy, candy made without milk or milk products

Granulated, brown or powdered sugar

Candy made with milk, such as chocolate, fudge, caramels, nougat

Vegetables

All fresh, frozen, or canned vegetables without milk or milk products added

All vegetable juices

Au gratin, buttered, creamed, or escalloped vegetables

Batter and dipped vegetables

Vegetable soufflés

Miscellaneous

Catsup, olives, pickles, nuts, herbs, chili powder, salt, spices, condiments

Any foods that are milk-,  cheese-, or butter-free, or that do not contain powdered milk or whey

All items containing milk, cheese, butter, whey casein, caseinates, hydrolysates, lactose, lactalbumin, lactoglobulin or milk solids, artificial butter flavor

Nondairy substitutes containing caseinate

How to read a label for a milk-free diet

Be sure to avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients:

  • Artificial butter flavor

  • Butter, butter fat, butter oil

  • Casein, casein hydrolysates 

  • Caseinates (ammonium, calcium, magnesium, potassium, sodium)

  • Cheese, cottage cheese, curds

  • Cream

  • Custard, pudding

  • Ghee

  • Half and Half

  • Hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, protein, whey, whey protein)

  • Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate

  • Lactoglobulin, lactoferrin 

  • Lactose, lactulose 

  • Milk (derivative, protein, solids, malted, condensed, evaporated, dry, whole, low-fat, nonfat, skim, goat's milk and milk from other animals, milk fat, powder)  

  • Nisin

  • Nougat

  • Recaldent

  • Rennet casein

  • Sour cream

  • Sour cream solids

  • Sour milk solids

  • Whey (delactosed, demineralized, protein concentrate)

  • Yogurt

Other possible sources of milk or milk products:

  • Brown sugar flavoring

  • Caramel flavoring

  • Chocolate

  • Flavorings (natural and artificial) 

  • High protein flour

  • Lactose

  • Luncheon meats, hot dogs, sausages 

  • Margarine

  • Simplesse